Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Critical Though
Can you target yourself with channeling assist?

Can you target yourself if it’s in a talisman if its channeling assist?

Is the 'brake' condition of the spell Ward of Containment necessarily external to the target. The target can't brake it, right?

If shield spells collapse does it reduce the damage with the DT before it might hit someone?

What would be some good parameters for Fusion it respects to sentience?

Do you use an action to do things in SATS or do you spend an action to use SATS in another action?

Does this work the same with talismans?

When it comes to simi-passive talismans and Shield spells or Wards can the condition for its activation be incoming attacks? For example, can a simi-passive talisman be set to use Ward against Magic to intercept a spell if it hits you equal to the number of charges? If so would a player be able to tell that a talisman was activated when it is used to intercept a spell?

What makes Ward of Containment good on a talisman as a talisman particularly?  

When a spell notes "A layer" or " single layer" does it mean only one layer can commit to that part of the spell? For example, magical arrow barrage’s grammar kind of suggests it. That one layer can only add an extra die per arrow, but several layers of overflow can amplify the DT ignoring.

Do already maintained spells like Target Lock simply transfer over into SATS without effecting cost?
Does SATS Ignore any illusions or are there exceptions distinctions? Some illusion spells like Double Team seem to imply they are causing the targets mind to see something that isn’t there rather than creating an external thing to be seen or not.

Was Dancing Blade/Swarm of blades meant to also intercept unarmed weapons as way as melee attacks? What is it to intercept an attack? Simply to take a hit I would assume.

Might have more but just a few things that have come up.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

RageLokiCat
Good news: I can answer exactly one of those questions. My groups haven't ever tested stuff like that before.

Turning SATS on and off is instantaneous.  Inside, you're essentially cramming as much stuff as you can into the time of one action, effectively simply giving you more actions. If you have 4, and use 1 with SATS, you can go about your otherwise effective max of 4.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Critical Thought
I mean that is all well and good, however unless I get it from the designers mouth or quoted in the rules I don't know if its 'true' or not.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

RageLokiCat
So... You can't check the rulebook, but you're asking on a public forum? Archer hasn't been here in weeks, you're not gonna get an answer. If you're not looking for a discussion with the community, you're also looking in the wrong place. But, you know, good luck.

Edit: The table of contents is your friend. Probably, like, try using it and you'll find some answers. I went to the ol' 'Your Stable-Tec Assisted Targeting System and You' Section, read for 30 seconds, and found "SATS users can queue up multiple attacks or actions to be performed within the span of a single combat action [...]" So I would recommend you give the book a thorough check while you wait for Archer.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Critical Thought
Yeah, I think you are assuming to much. I am asking because perhaps I am missing something. Like, you say activating SATS is instantaneous, But it states " When activated (costing a single action in combat), it temporarily slows down time to an almost stand-still, while simultaneously calculating and providing accurate targeting and usage data for whatever weapons, items or spells the wearer has at their current disposal. " The question is, do you pay the action to activate it and then once activated you do things in SATS with another action. (which my GM has ruled that way) or does it just take a action to do things in SATS (which I think is how it should work). Your quote  "SATS users can queue up multiple attacks or actions to be performed within the span of a single combat action [...]" could apply to both interpretations. I could spend a action activating SATS and then SATS could give me the ability to queue up multiple attacks in the fallowing action.

You could say what you said and someone could say another thing to the contrary the same way you did and I would have no reason to think any person is right or wrong. Which is why sources are important.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

RageLokiCat
Ah, yes, I can see the trouble. I had no idea there were so many ways to misinterpret a rule. Well, I've done my part. Good luck, Sir/Madam, this is officially out of my league. I'm happy with taking my GM's word as law, no matter what they say.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

archerofhope
Administrator
In reply to this post by Critical Though
I'll answer these in order.  
1.  No.  You cannot target yourself with channeling assist or any of its linked spells.  
2.  Yes.  This tree of spells are all listed as passive spells for the purpose of talismans.  (See "Talisman Creator" spell)
3. The target CAN break this from the inside. The revised spell that clarifies this is as follows (this will be posted as a version 1.24 at the end of this month): Contains either a single entity or everything within a small volume (INT’xINT’xINT’) and temporarily prevents it from moving or harming others.  Spellcasters trapped within this type of ward are rendered incapable of casting spells, but can still move and attack physically as normal within the confines of their containment field.  This spell must be sustained to remain in effect, and can be broken if the caster loses consciousness or their line of sight with the target is broken for longer than a combat round.  This spell is very powerful if imbued into a talisman or set of talismans, especially if set to a trigger.  This ward can be overwhelmed by any attack powerful enough to maim the caster that placed the ward (i.e. it must deal as much damage as the caster’s END*D/W, accounting for modifiers to the resulting value made by perks, traits and hindrances). The containment ward “field” has non-reducable armor equal to the INT of the caster, which absorbs damage directed outward from within the contained space or entity.  
4. Yes.  It is considered to absorb that damage as it collapses.  Think of it like magical bullet proof glass - It still saps the force of impact, even if the bullet ultimately does penetrate it.  
5.  I subscribe to the science fiction definition of sentience, which implies sapience.  Paraphrasing Wikipedia: Sentient characters also typically display desire, will, consciousness, ethics, personality, insight, humor, ambition and many other "human" (Read: Pony) qualities. Sentience, in this context, describes an essential human property that brings all these other qualities with it. Science fiction uses the words sapience, self-awareness, and consciousness in similar ways.  In the classical, more rigorous definitive sense, I mean sapience.  I will amend the spell wording appropriately and replace the word with Sapient.  Good Catch - Animals with central nervous systems are by and large all sentient in the classical definition.  
6.  You spend an action to access your SATS pool.  All things done using SATS action points exist outside of the time frame defined by actions.  So... technically, the first option.  
7.  Talismans that activate SATS are talismans that activate SATS.  Beyond that, I would need more specifics (what spell, for example) to give you a better answer.  
If you mean regarding activation:  Activated talismans are activated as an action, and have their effect go off as part of that action.  Semi-passives are turned on or turned off as an action.  While on, they use charges whenever an action is performed or a condition is met that makes use of the spell.  They are capable of expending charges to keep sustaining spell effects regardless of whether or not a character is using an action to do so.  
8.  "Most spells may need to be triggered after being imbued into a talisman – this is especially true of active talismans.  Triggering a talisman is a single action in combat, and requires physical or magical contact with the talisman." So, attacking the talisman could be the activation.  Attacking the character carrying it is insufficient.  However, you could simply have semi passive talismans active all the time.  That's not even unreasonable - remember, they only expend charges when specifically acted on, so your shield talisman can theoretically last forever if it's not attacked.  
9.  Ward of containment on a talisman is better than from a caster because you can link multiple wards of containment to make a nigh-impassable "screen".  It is also better because you can link it to arcanotech to activate as part of a trap.
10.   Yes.  That is the correct interpretation.  
11.   Yes.  You absolutely could use Target Lock and then engage SATS during the same round, even.  
12.   SATS cannot penetrate illusion spell effects, but it CAN let you ignore spell effects that erect physical opaque barriers or smoke-screens.  This distinction has been added to the SATS section.  
13.  Yes.  Melee attacks include unarmed combat attacks.  Melee attacks can be made without using melee weapons.  I guess that leap of logic *is* a little less than intuitive.  And yes; functionally, they just interpose themselves to block the caster.  
System Creator
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

archerofhope
Administrator
In reply to this post by RageLokiCat
You're absolutely correct, of course.  Thank you :)  
System Creator
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

RageLokiCat
Just doing my best to be helpful in your absence. :3 Thank you for responding so quickly and thoroughly to these questions, I'm sure the clarifications will be a great benefit to everyone! No matter how complete a rules book is, there will always be questions.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Loaneal
My goodness will there ever be questions!
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Critical Though
In reply to this post by archerofhope
Thank you for taking the time to respond to my post. Glade to get some clarification for my group. Here are a few more questions if you would be so kind and when you have the time.

1. Is there a MFD penalty for every layer of overgrow in respect to casting? For example layer 1 3/4, layer 2 1/2, layer 3 1/4. There are things in the book that illude to something like this, but nothing laying it out as clearly as strain costs imo.

2. Is it to be assumed unless otherwise stated that any damage based spell has a 1/10 magic rank base? There are some spells that note this but some spells like Magic Arrow don't display the 1/10 magic rank base while the other spell does.

3. Do illusion spells that effect MFD stack? For example, If someone casts Unkindness of Ravens twice on some targets would they suffer from a 2 MFD penalty. Could one cast Double Vision on themselves twice to be 1/2 base harder to hit?

4. If one is simply holding a weapon with TK do they still have to pay additional costs to cast other spells.

5. Unkindness of Ravines says it can last up to 3 turns. I am corious if it is suppose to be a infliction like TK Stunner or if its a sustained spell that after 3 turns must be sustained again via strain. The grammar used is a bit different then shield which makes me a little unsure.

6. Will the Black Spells all have layed out strain costs in the future or are some of them ment to be a kind of undefined RP mega spell?

7. Are there any good rules of thumb that can be used for Transmogrify or would it be completely up to DM discussion? Could someone take a talisman and make it blank with this spell given a blank talisman could be considered less complex? Like, a filthy book could be considered more complex then a clean blank one in some peoples eyes.

8.Are there particular examples that would make layer 2 and 3 worth there cost assuming number 1 is true aside from the magical arrow spells? I understand Layer 2 is likely just to satisfy a critical on a cast or target. But wouldn't it almost always be better to use layer 1 twice unless there is a Channeling Assist? Unkindness of Reavens is a good example of this granted it stacks, wouldn't it be better to cast it twice in layer 1 for 6 cost as opposed to layer 3 for 24 cost? Or even if it needs to be sustained wouldn't it still be better to pay x2 and then x4 cost?

9. Does Cleaver Prancer crit modifier apply to both targeting and casting with magic? Would the spell have to be a damage or at least targeting spell for it to apply?

10. What would be a cost for Double Vision if it is being maintained twice by the same caster if possible?

11. If a unicorn learns Alter Form and they turn into a Alicorn could they then learn any number of level 2 or 3 spells while they remain a alicorn? If they revert back would anything happen to the spells learned as a alicorn?

12. The start of character creation cuts of at the end of a sentence. What is the rest of the instructions? There is also a Special Trait Eligibility. Is this a list of Traits that one can pick one or two of and start with it for free? What exactly is the point of the list? (this I might have just missed something in the rule book or something.)

13. Can you read a book on a skill you lack the radical ability to use? For example, can a Earth pony read a flight mag and gain skill rank in flight?

14. For clarification, simi-passives that are active will use there charge so fair as they are active and a condition is meet for it to work on them. So for example, if a simi-passive ward against magic talisman is made active and it had 5 charge. You could absorb 5 magical attacks before depleting the talisman and becoming venerable? If a Simi-passive Sheild talisman with 5 charges is active then one would be in a shield consistently unless it is broken 5 times or only if it is hit 5 times?

15. Perhaps this is in the part of the book I don't read as a player. But what is it to link talisman?

Thanks again in advance. And I do hope others find your previous answers usesful
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Critical Thought
Ignore the one about talisman and shield. Found that one out.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

archerofhope
Administrator
In reply to this post by Critical Though
Okay, I'm going to break up this response into multiple posts because I'm pressed for time right now.  More answers to come tomorrow.  
1.  Yes.  Every layer of overglow makes the spell one MFD step more difficult to cast.    
2. If the spell doesn't say it adds the base damage, it doesn't add the base damage.  You're thinking of the magical beam spells, I believe - They have that damage bonus specifically to mimic how the energy weapons they're modeled after work.  
3.  While this is technically allowed within the rules, they would have to be maintaining both spells to achieve this effect, which would be difficult.  
I personally do not allow players to double-cast spells and maintain multiple instances of a spell of that nature, as the role of expanding a spell's effects is more appropriately captured by adding layers of Overglow.  It isn't strictly forbidden, however, so as long as they're taking the casting penalties from casting the spell an additional time while they're maintaining the first (1 MFD step per spell already maintained), that's fine.  
4. No.  Not if they're just holding it.  That is why the listed strain cost is always 1/-- on 'monster' sheets
5. I will have to look more into the source material notes I took for this spell and get back to you on Wednesday.  For now, treat it as an inflicted spell.  But you still can't hit a single target with that spell twice at the same time, that's not even close to balanced.  Clearly it needs an overhaul.

5-10 on Wednesday.  Peace.  
System Creator
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Several questions. Mostly about Magic.

Loaneal
Sorry to split up your response but I would like to add a couple in there.

16. In the teleporation 2 spell it mentions that one cannot teleport an over carry capacity passenger, can one teleport oneself if they are overweight?

17. Is there a limit on the weight of a passenger one can teleport with them? I.E. a pipsqueak hind character teleportating a double large trait alicorn at their max carry weight would be quite the difference in sizes. I'm guessing bringing things like full size dragons, and other similar sized passengers (vehicles, tanks, etc) is impossible but I just wanted to know if there was any implied limit really.

18. Again teleportation 2 (shocking right?) it mentions if a char is aware they can dodge an attempt to unwillingly bring them along with a teleportation. Now how does a character become "aware" exactly, because teleportation just looks like one's horn is glowing right? So if one is say holding a weapon with TK nothing would really change there to make them aware per se. Would it require the unwilling passenger to have prior knowledge or a PER check? Or what exactly? For example say my character meets a travelling earth horse merchant, he goes to check the items for sale, pulls out his bits to purchase something so his horn is glowing, then decides to teleport the poor merchant 1000ft into the air and then teleport back down to watch the merchant splat and then proceed to steal all his stuff. Would that merchant get a check (i.e. would he even be aware such a thing could happen?). Same thing as say an enemy runs at you like a crazed psychopath with a sword while you're holding a gun and in reaction you teleport him 1000ft in the air, would he even be "aware" that such a thing could occur (at least without prior knowledge of my character)? This wouldn't exactly be a common thing for most people to be aware of being actually possible right?

Thanks in advance, and sorry about that last question, kinda got away from me.